2021 Spring Preview

We made it through winter! And with some movies and TV shows released! The highlights of winter 2021 really centered around WandaVision. However, we are right in the middle of the craze of both Zack Snyder's Justice League as well as The Falcon and the Winter Soldier. Spring brings a lot more exciting movies and TV shows that we can look forward to, as well as a hopeful hindering of COVID-19. These are the films in spring that I'm looking in to. There's more than just superhero movies in here, so that's nice. Spring includes everything from the middle of March to the middle of June. Let's see what's in store.


Movies: Godzilla vs. Kong / Mortal Kombat / Tom Clancy's Without Remorse / Spiral: From the Book of Saw / Cruella / A Quiet Place Part II / Vivo / The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It / In the Heights / Luca


TV Shows: All-American / The Flash / The Falcon and the Winter Soldier / The Mighty Ducks: Game Changers / Star Wars: The Bad Batch / Loki



Godzilla vs. Kong

One of my most anticipated movies of 2021, Godzilla vs. Kong is the ultimate installment in Warner Bros.' MonsterVerse. This is the showdown of a lifetime. I'm very excited for this movie and hope to see it in the theater, meaning it'd be the first movie that I've seen in a movie theater in over a year. Even if it isn't good, we will definitely get some memorable action sequences with Godzilla and King Kong.


Godzilla vs. Kong will be released to theaters and HBO Max on March 31, 2021.


Mortal Kombat

I do not plan on seeing this film. I have no interest in it, but I know that the Mortal Kombat video game is or was very popular. The trailer did not grab my attention, and I'm simply going to skip this one unless a ton of people want me to review it or it gets stellar reviews. The action looks like it might be cool, but that's just about it.


Mortal Kombat releases in theaters and HBO Max on April 16, 2021.


Tom Clancy's Without Remorse

I haven't seen the trailer, but this movie sounds cool. It's a Tom Clancy film, and he wrote the Jack Ryan books. I've seen both The Hunt for Red October and Patriot Games, and I liked both of them. Michael B. Jordan is a CIA operative in an action-thriller film. It's bound to be good. I doubt it will be very popular, but I'll probably watch it.


Tom Clancy's Without Remorse will stream straight to Amazon on April 30, 2021.


Spiral: From the Book of Saw

I have never seen any of the Saw movies. I watched the Kill Counts on the Dead Meat YouTube channel, but that's it. I saw the trailer for this a while back, and I'm sure it got delayed a million times. Either way, it's coming soon, and I'm still unsure as to whether I'll watch it. I don't think Chris Rock fits in this universe at all, but maybe he'll be good. The director said it feels more like Se7en than a Saw movie, so I'm intrigued. This also has the coolest movie poster I've seen in a long time, so maybe I'll give it a go just based on that.


Spiral hits theaters on May 21, 2021.


Cruella

I think Emma Stone is great. Cruella De Vil is one of the best Disney villains ever. This movie looks horrible. I don't know what Disney is going for, but it looks like they are making Cruella into their own Joker. I have very low expectations. Even besides the dark tone, the film looks like it's about fashion design. This looks absolutely terrible and I do not want to watch it, but I will.


Cruella is released in theaters and on Disney+ on May 28, 2021.


A Quiet Place Part II

I haven't seen the first Quiet Place, but I think I will watch this one. This was, in fact, the first movie to get delayed in 2020. That was a sad day. Anyway, we're getting it in May, and it looks good. Supposedly, it's half-sequel and half-prequel, which will be cool. It'll be really interesting to see how the monsters got to Earth and took over.


A Quiet Place Part II is in theaters on May 28, 2021.


Vivo

Vivo is an animated movie that has music by Lin Manuel-Miranda. I'm in. Last time animation and Lin collided, we got Moana, which I absolutely adore. To be fair, Vivo is a Sony movie about a monkey. Sony isn't always reliable. Sometimes we get Into the Spider-Verse and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. And sometimes we get The Emoji Movie or The Smurfs 2. They are very inconsistent, but with Lin Manuel-Miranda writing music, it'll at least have some memorable songs.


Vivo is in theaters on June 4, 2021.


The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It

This is one I'll probably skip. I don't love religious horror movies or possession horror movies. I'm much more of a slasher guy, and The Conjuring movies are all about exorcisms and demons and stuff like that. According to critics, the first two Conjuring movies are great, but all the Annabelle spin-offs and The Nun and The Curse of La Llorana are pretty bad. A lot of people are looking forward to this one...I'm not one of those people.


The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It releases on June 4, 2021.


In the Heights

In the Heights is another Lin Manuel-Miranda movie. This is another one that I'm looking forward to, although the newest trailer knocked back my excitement a good bit. The music will be fantastic and the dance numbers/visuals look jaw-dropping. However, on a story and script level, I'm a little bit worried. I don't know a bunch about In the Heights, but I will check it out with an eager eye.


In the Heights drops in theaters on June 18, 2021.


Luca

Luca is the next Pixar film. This is another one that looks very different. The concept seems, as usual, creative and experimental, but I was not a fan of Soul, so I don't feel one hundred percent safe with Luca. The animation also looks incredibly strange, so I really don't know how to feel about this one. We will just have to see when it comes out.


Luca is streaming exclusively to Disney+ on June 18, 2021.


All-American

Sorry, but I'm dropping All-American. I don't feel compelled to watch it...ever. It's not a great show and this third season has done nothing but disappoint me. I don't want to watch it even to review it, so if you read my All-American reviews, I am sorry. I hope you guys enjoy the rest of the season, but I'm out.


All-American continues through Spring for 16 episodes.


The Flash

I haven't been watching The Flash Season 7 yet, but I probably will once it drops to Netflix. I haven't been following it at all or checking out the reviews, but I'm sure it's doing just fine. I am relatively excited to continue it, but also not ecstatic. And, as I said in the winter preview, this really represents all the CW superhero shows: Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow, Batwoman, etc. The one that I really want to watch also is Superman & Lois. It got good reviews and sounds fun.


The Flash aires on Tuesdays at 8 p.m. ET. The final episode count is unknown.


The Falcon and the Winter Soldier

The first episode of The Falcon and the Winter Soldier dropped last Friday, and it was pretty good. Not as good as WandaVision yet, but I am still very excited for the next episode. Hopefully the return of Zemo and continuation of the Flag-Smashers will make for an interesting story throughout the season.


The Falcon and the Winter Soldier drops straight to Disney+ on Fridays. It will run for six episodes until April 23, 2021.


The Mighty Ducks: Game Changers

No interest in this at all. I probably won't watch it. I've never seen any of the Mighty Ducks movies, so this does not draw me. I don't know if any of you guys are Mighty Ducks fans. If you are, this is here to let you know that this show is happening and Emilio Estevez is coming back.


The Mighty Ducks: Game Changers premieres on Disney+ on March 26, 2021.

Star Wars: The Bad Batch

I don't know much about The Bad Batch. I think it's some kind of sequel to The Clone Wars, but I'm not sure. All I know is that it's an animated Star Wars show surrounding clones. I don't plan on watching it. Usually I just stick with the live-action Star Wars things, and all of the TV shows that they announced have gotten away from me.


Star Wars: The Bad Batch premieres on Disney+ on May 4, 2021.


Loki

This is the TV show that I'm most excited for throughout the rest of the year. After WandaVision, I realized that weird Disney+ Marvel shows are a good thing. And, oh lord, Loki looks weird. Some kind of creepy, time-bending, sci-fi series starring the god of mischief is going to be really fun. Maybe this is where the multiverse will open. Who knows? Either way, I'm super hyped to check this one out. Also, this is the only announced Disney+ show that apparently is developing a second season. Strange.


Loki premieres on Disney+ on June 11, 2021. It will run for six episodes until July 16, 2021.